Contact Us | Search:
AFL Queensland   /  AFLQ   /  History   /  Honour Board   /  The Joe Grant Medal
The Joe Grant Medal

The Joe Grant Medal is awarded to the best player on the ground in the State League grand final.

It is named after longtime league secretary Joe Grant, who was involved in administration for more than 30 years.

The award was inaugurated in 1981.

In the 26 times the medal has been presented, only one man from a losing side has ever won it - Morningside's Jacob Gough in 2008.

Four players - Zane Taylor, Brendan McMullen, Mitchell Howe and Danny Dickfos - have won both a Joe Grant and Grogan Medal, but no player has ever achieved the double in the same year.


2013: Jack Crisp (Brisbane Lions)
2012: Claye Beams (Brisbane Lions)
2009: Ben Gibson (Morningside)
2008: Jacob Gough (Morningside)
2007: Ash Evans (Mt Gravatt)
2006: Dane Carmody (Southport)
2005: Paul Dimattina (Southport)
2004: David Lillico (Morningside)
2003: Scott Easdown (Morningside)
2002: Tony Lynn (Mt Gravatt)
2001: Ben Robbins (Lions Reserves)
2000: Steve McLuckie (Southport)
1999: Shaun Ballans (Southport)
1998: Clint Watts (Southport)
1997: Scott Bamford (Southport)
1996: Brett Zeidler (West Brisbane)
1995: Danny Dickfos (North Brisbane)
1994: David Wearne (Morningside)
1993: Brendan Fagg (Morningside)
1992: Paul Siede (Southport)
1991: Mitchell Howe (Morningside)
1990: Zane Taylor (Southport)
1989: Ray Sarcevic (Southport)
1998: Andrew Martyn (Windsor-Zillmere)
1987: Gary Dempsey (Southport)
1986: Brendan McMullen (Coorparoo)
1985: Trevor Surman (Southport)
1984: Gary Becker (Coorparoo)
1983: Zane Taylor (Southport)
1982: Leigh Goodall (Mayne)
1981: Kevan Sparks (Windsor-Zillmere)

AFL Queensland 2010